Life, Portland Love
Leave a Comment

Picnic at Cathedral Park

Every month I’m attempting to have an Adventure, wherein I explore a new place. Later this month I’m actually quite busy traveling for weddings and family vacations so those definitely take care of October! But last weekend I went on a mini-adventure in Portland to a park I’d never been to, so I’m counting that, too.

It was the perfect day for Early Fall: sunny and 70s, with brilliant colored leaves poking into the blue sky. Jesse and I grabbed some books, packed a picnic, and took off on his recently acquired motorcycle to North Portland!

IMG_1611

Our destination was Cathedral Park, a photogenic green space right under the St. John’s Bridge. It’s easy to see how the park got it’s name from those tall Gothic arches, perfectly framed in succession. Above, on the bridge, even taller arches stretch upwards, crowning the river with their turquoise beauty. The St. John’s Bridge is by far my favorite Portland bridge.

IMG_1630

IMG_1629

I’ve been into picnics this year, and keep pinning inspiration like crazy onto my Picnics and Outdoor board on Pinterest.  This time was a simple affair: we packed English Cheddar, Rogue Creamery Blue Cheese, Kalamata Olive bread from Grand Central, and some apples. Then we sat, read, lounged, and enjoyed the sunny day.  Ahh, Fall.

IMG_1626

IMG_1621

IMG_1635

IMG_1637

Back on the motorcycle, headed home! Au revoir to the last sunny day of the year, I’m afraid. It was a good one.

This entry was posted in: Life, Portland Love
Tagged with: , ,

by

I live in Portland, Oregon and love to explore the city, the Pacific Northwest, and beyond. I enjoy hiking and other pursuits in the outdoors. I also enjoy eating cheese, a good picnic, a new restaurant, and embroidering maps.

Leave a comment